rihanna-AMA-icon-award-2013.jpgRihanna is set to perform and receive the first-ever AMA Icon Award for the 2013 American Music Awards.

Producer Larry Klein says in the announcement, “The first-ever Icon Award was created to honor an artist whose body of
work has made a profound influence over pop music on a global level.
Rihanna’s iconic and innovative sound has enabled her to become one of
the most influential and best-selling artists of all time.”

Rihanna will join the already-announced performers Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Ke$ha, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, Kendrick Lamar, Imagine Dragons, Jennifer Lopez, One Direction, Katy Perry, Justin Timberlake, TLC and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, plus the host, Pitbull, will also perform.

The 2013 American Music Awards air Sunday, Nov. 24 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC.