It's almost time for television's biggest night, when the 68th annual Primetime Emmy Awards air live on ABC. It's always fun to see what the stars are wearing on the red carpet -- and it's even more fun to look back at the fashions from days of yore.

Case in point -- 1999. Many of today's biggest TV stars were walking the red carpet that year and many of them probably want a fashion do-over.

RELATED: 2016 Emmy nominations snubs & surprises

Sure, the spaghetti-strap maxi dresses and corset bodices were the height of fashion back then -- and everyone looks beautiful -- but red carpet rewinds are always full of hilarious-in-hindsight choices; Gillian Anderson and Portia de Rossi are particular highlights.

From the stars of "Ally McBeal" and "The Practice" to your best "Friends," here's what 17 stars were sporting on the Emmys red carpet 17 years ago.

Tune in Sunday, Sept. 18 for all the glitz and glamour of 2016 . The red carpet coverage kicks off at 6 pm. ET/3 p.m. PT on E! and at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on ABC. The actual awards show starts at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on ABC, hosted by Jimmy Kimmel.

And be on the lookout for the stars who may regret this year's fashion choice down the line!