mtvU-fandom-of-the-year-award-nominees-2014.jpgMTV’s college network, mtvU, announced Wednesday (July 9) the nominees for “Fandom of the Year,” which will be presented at the first “mtvU Fandom Awards,” taking place during the 2014 San Diego Comic-Con on Thursday, July 24 at the Padres’ Petco Park.

The award winner will be decided by bracket-style voting, with four categories: Movies, TV Dramas, TV Comedies and Animation. Executive producer Ryan Kroft says in a statement, “We are thrilled to honor more than two dozen fandoms through an innovative bracket unlike anything we’ve seen in another awards show.”

The nominees are as follows:


“The Hunger Games”
“The Hobbit”
“Veronica Mars”
“The Fault in Our Stars”
“Captain America: Winter Soldier”
“X-Men: Days of Future Past”
“Pacific Rim”

TV Dramas

“Teen Wolf”
“Game of Thrones”
“The Vampire Diaries”
“Doctor Who”
“Breaking Bad”
“Pretty Little Liars”

TV Comedies

“Parks & Recreation”
“New Girl”
“How I Met Your Mother”
“It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”
“Brooklyn Nine-Nine”


“Attack on Titan”
“Free! Iwatobi Swim Club”
“Adventure Time”
“South Park”
“Blood Lad”
“Family Guy”

mtvU also announced an award for “Best Fandom Forever” (BFF) presented with Tumblr, which include:
“Harry Potter”
“The Lord of the Rings”
“Buffy the Vampire Slayer”
“Doctor Who”

The mtvU Fandom Awards special will air Sunday, July 27 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on MTV and mtvU. Voting is now open at