urx unit loader What time does the Super Bowl start? FOX's Super Bowl XLV schedule
super bowl kickoff time What time does the Super Bowl start? FOX's Super Bowl XLV scheduleFirst things first: Kickoff for Super Bowl XLV between the Pittsburgh Steelers and Green Bay Packers is scheduled for 6:29 p.m. ET on Sunday (Feb. 6). Not 6:30, and not 6:28, but 6:29. It airs live coast-to-coast on FOX.

Your TV listings will likely tell you that the game starts at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT, but that first half-hour 29 minutes will include the introduction of the teams, the national anthem (sung by Christina Aguilera), the coin toss and other assorted pre-kickoff business.

Now, if you really, really want to get into the Super Bowl experience, you can settle in for six full hours of pre-game overload. A pair of specials, “Road to the Super Bowl” and “Inside the Rings with Troy Aikman,” air starting at noon ET/9 a.m. PT, and the official pre-game show — all four hours of it — begins at 2 p.m. Eastern.

If you don’t care about football but want to see “Glee” afterward, expect the episode to start about 10:30 p.m. ET, give or take a few minutes.

But if you’re just interested in the game, tune in a little after 6 p.m. ET on Sunday and you’ll be good to go.