144th Belmont Stakes TV coverage: I'll Have Another the early favorite

ill-have-another-belmont-stakes.jpgUPDATE: Trainer Doug O'Neill says I'll Have Another is out of the Belmont Stakes and has probably run his last race.

The Belmont Stakes is the third leg of the prestigious Triple Crown of horse racing, which hasn't been won since 1978 when Affirmed edged out Alydar by a nose in the Belmont to complete his three wins and secure the title.

In a year when one horse has won both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness, all eyes are on Belmont Park in New York to see if we might get the next Triple Crown winner. 2012 is one of those years - can I'll Have Another pull it off?

TV coverage begins on NBC at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT, with the post time scheduled for 6:35 p.m. ET/3:35 p.m. PT. The morning lines and post positions are as follows:

1. Street Life, 12-1
2. Unstoppable U, 30-1
3. Union Rags, 6-1
4. Atigun, 30-1
5. Dullahan, 5-1
6. Ravelo's Boy, 50-1
7. Five Sixteen, 50-1
8. Guyana Star Dweej, 50-1
9. Paynter, 8-1
10. Optimizer, 20-1
11. I'll Have Another, 4-5
12. My Adonis, 20-1

I'll Have Another will have a bit of a challenge starting from so far outside. In the history of the Belmont, only two 11-post horses have won. Can I'll Have Another become the third?

Photo/Video credit: Getty Images
SHARE IT ON: