What time does the Super Bowl start? FOX's Super Bowl XLV schedule

super-bowl-kickoff-time.jpgFirst things first: Kickoff for Super Bowl XLV between the Pittsburgh Steelers and Green Bay Packers is scheduled for 6:29 p.m. ET on Sunday (Feb. 6). Not 6:30, and not 6:28, but 6:29. It airs live coast-to-coast on FOX.

Your TV listings will likely tell you that the game starts at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT, but that first half-hour 29 minutes will include the introduction of the teams, the national anthem ( sung by Christina Aguilera), the coin toss and other assorted pre-kickoff business.

Now, if you really, really want to get into the Super Bowl experience, you can settle in for six full hours of pre-game overload. A pair of specials, "Road to the Super Bowl" and "Inside the Rings with Troy Aikman," air starting at noon ET/9 a.m. PT, and the official pre-game show -- all four hours of it -- begins at 2 p.m. Eastern.

If you don't care about football but want to see "Glee" afterward, expect the episode to start about 10:30 p.m. ET, give or take a few minutes.

But if you're just interested in the game, tune in a little after 6 p.m. ET on Sunday and you'll be good to go.
Photo/Video credit: Getty Images
SHARE IT ON: